

Report to Housing SPC

Date: December 2022

Item No.

Special Committee on Homelessness

A meeting of the Special Committee on Homelessness took place on 10^{th} November 2022 via Zoom. The following were in attendance:

Cllr Hazel Chu GP CHAIR

Cllr Janet Horner GP Cllr Daithí Doolan SF

Mary Flynn Deputy Director DRHE

Bevin Herbert DCC

A presentation on the experience of women in homelessness was provided by Bevin Herbert, DRHE. The following was discussed:

- A subgroup of the SACG was set up with representatives from NGOs, LAs, DRHE and HSE to research the topic, with the final meeting scheduled for Q1 2023
- Women accessing Homeless Services will be an agenda item for the SACG for 2023
- Female-only accommodation has doubled over the last three years
- Need for female only provision of Day Services being reviewed
- o Gender specific healthcare provided, e.g. family planning and FGM services
- o PGH doing training with TENI
- PGH have received Trauma Informed Care training, looking at rolling out training in the sector with support of the HSE

An update on the National Youth Homelessness Strategy provided by Bevin Herbert, DRHE:

- Strategy launched on 9th November 2022
- Approximately 19 actions for LAs with a timeline of 2023-2025
- o 19% of overall total in EA in Dublin are aged 18-24 (931)

Update on the National Prevention Strategy provided by Bevin Herbert, DRHE:

- Under NHAC there are three prevention subgroups: HAP; institutional discharge; and early intervention for families
- The three subgroups presented their recommendations to NHAC on 9th November 2022, for review by the DHLGH
- o The DRHE are reviewing its own prevention process, aiming for earlier interventions

The next meeting is scheduled to take place on 12th January 2023. Outreach, street/day services and rough sleeping have been selected as the topics for discussion. The following have been invited to attend:

Cllr Hazel Chu	GP	CHAIR
Cllr Alison Gilliland	LAB	
Cllr Daithí de Róiste	FF	
Cllr Daithí Doolan	SF	
Cllr Janet Horner	GP	
Cllr Catherine Stocker	SD	
Cllr Tina MacVeigh	PBP	
Cllr Kevin Donoghue	LAB	
Cllr James Geoghegan	FG	

Mary Hayes Director DRHE

Mary Flynn Deputy Director DRHE
John Durkan Deputy Director DRHE
Bevin Herbert Dublin City Council

Aoife Walsh DRHE Suzanne Byrne DRHE